All right, I know you were expecting a GOOD excerpt, but…

I had to scribble down a song for a part of my story last night. I don’t really like it, but the people I’ve shown it to do. So I decided to post it here and see what y’all think of it.

Backstory: Something frightening is happening, and a girl sings a familiar child’s song to calm herself and the others around her.

Mother is at the spinning wheel,

Brother churns the churn,

Sister minds the mending,

Father works in the barn.

Puppy rolls on the rug,

Kitten plays with string,

Horse gallops ’round the field,

Then comes back for his feeding.

Bread is in the oven,

Water boils in the pot,

Pour it into the teacups,

Serve it nice and hot.

Now the sun is setting,

Put your nightclothes on,

A kiss goodnight from Mother,

She will still be there come dawn.

Now the time to sleep is over,

Wake to the light of morning.

Mother rings the breakfast bell,

Can you hear the rooster calling?

Hope you liked it, because I’m not at all sure that I did.

Categories: Excerpts | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “All right, I know you were expecting a GOOD excerpt, but…

  1. Lady Katharina

    I like it.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

