Top Ten Cashier Pet Peeves

I’ve compiled a list (in no particular order) of all the things that majorly bug me about working as a cashier. Note: none of the things listed apply to my family, friends, or my dear readers. Just random strangers who come through the store. These things don’t even happen all that often-perhaps 20 of my 500 or so customers during an 8 hour shift.

#1. People get mad at ME when something is more expensive than they would like, as if I can change it. If you don’t want to pay more money, don’t come to the more expensive store.

#2. The self checkout machines are very self-explanatory. ย A voice talks you through the whole thing, loud and clear, with explicit instructions, and the directions are also in text AND pictures on the screen. And yet people still turn to me and act like I’m doing something wrong when the voice, text, AND pictures are all saying “Please place the item in the bag,” and the machine won’t go anywhere until they do, and they simply haven’t placed their jug of milk or bag of apples on the bagging scale.

This may need a bit more explanation.

After you ring something up on self checkout, the machines test to see if you’re putting the right item in the bag by measuring its weight. The reason is this: that some ne’er-do-wells will scan a cheap steak, for instance, and then slip an expensive one into the bag. Sneaky, huh? So that’s why the scale is so important.

#3. When people pay me in coins. A man paid me $18 and change in quarters once. My cash drawer was overflowing; I stuck them all in (after making the next customer wait for a long time so I could count all the quarters), and then the next time I opened the cash drawer, quarters flew everywhere. Coins are just a pain to count and handle, as are $1 bills–especially when someone’s total is $10 and they make me count 10 unwieldy dollars and tap their foot with impatience as I try to flatten them all out and shove them into the cash drawer.

#4. Okay, so I understand that different stores have different PIN-pad systems, and that it can be confusing. But there’s a big old label that says “CREDIT” right next to the correct button to press for credit…

#5. People get mad at me sometimes for asking to see their ID. Seriously? You’re angry that I think you look young? And anyway, I don’t want to go to jail! It’s worth for both of us the two seconds it takes to pull out your ID and allow me to punch in your birth date!

#6. Coupons are annoying enough in themselves. But people don’t always even bother to get the items specifically stated on the coupons (fat free chips, a 12-roll package of toilet paper as opposed to 6, a certain brand of Greek yogurt, etc.). It’s quite frustrating, especially when I’ve already bagged everything and it’s all perfectly positioned in the cart, and they insist on plowing through it all to find the item and tell me to take it off of their order, and then they do that with so many items that I have to get a manager override, and the customer gets mad at ME for “making them wait”…

Sorry, I’m rambling.

#7. This one has to do with the Customer Service people (basically supervisors), not the customers.

I went on break today, and I was about 5 minutes (if that) late coming back. And yeah, I understand something should perhaps be said, but nicely, right? Oh, no. I pass by the Customer Service person and they say “Little, long, don’t you think?” with a snarky attitude and rude tone. Yes, very supervisor-like of you. I applaud your worthiness of your position in charge of others.

#8. Okay, a complaint: Break is too short. If your shift is under 6 & 1/2 hours, you only get a 15 minute break. Once you go to the bathroom, get a snack, and sit down in the break room, you’ve only got 5 minutes left to rest your tired feet.

#9. Another self-checkout thing. Customers act like they own the thing and they know how it works. And worse, when I ever-so-politely explain to them why they need to leave their items on the scale or remove their purse from the scanner, they act like I don’t know what I’m talking about. Seriously? I’m certified in running those hunks of junk. I know how they work. And the scale is NOT a bench!

#10. Ignorant people. You know, the kind who literally stand right next to the coffee and ask where your coffee aisle is. There ARE signs… And if you opened your eyes, you wouldย probablyย see the coffee even without a sign, unless you’re blind or not wearing your trifocals.

That’s the end of my angry (not really) rant. Hopefully it was enjoyable and enlightening. ๐Ÿ˜›

Categories: Random | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Cashier Pet Peeves

  1. Poor Elizabeth. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did think that was quite funny though.

  2. Some lady did #6 yesterday. Oh my goodness, it was so annoying!

  3. “Uhโ€ฆ *doesnโ€™t know what to say to that*”

    Just agree with me. ^_^

  4. Heheh, nah, I’m thankful for my job. Just not some of the customers. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. This ’tis kinda funny, haha. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I do see how that would be fustrating!

    • Elizabeth Altenbach

      It is funny, looking back on it, but it’s definitely not fun when they happen. =P

  6. Sometimes I find myself remembering this list around cashiers now… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find
    It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope
    to give something back and help others like you aided me.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

